We are moving, visit our new website National Recovery and Resilience Agency

Assistance available for WA communities affected by Ex-Tropical Cyclone Seroja

Monday, April 19, 2021
Western Australia

People, councils, businesses and primary producers in 13 Western Australian local government areas will receive support following the extensive damage caused by Ex-Tropical Cyclone Seroja.

Find out more about the assistance available in your area at Recovery Connect

Through the joint Australian and State Government Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA), a range of ways are now available to help people get back on their feet and support councils with the clean-up and repairs to infrastructure.

Impacted residents may be eligible to apply for the Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment and Australian Government Disaster Recovery Allowance.

Find out more on the Services Australia website.

To claim assistance, call the Services Australia hotline on 180 22 66 from 8:00am to 5:00pm local time, Monday to Friday, and 9am to 5pm, Saturday to Sunday.

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged
  • Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses and primary producers, and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

Eligible Local Government Areas

  • Carnamah
  • Chapman Valley
  • Coorow
  • Dalwallinu
  • Dandaragan
  • Greater Geraldton
  • Mingenew
  • Morawa
  • Mount Marshall
  • Northampton
  • Perenjori
  • Shark Bay
  • Three Springs

The full details about available assistance is on the Disaster Assist website.