We are moving, visit our new website National Recovery and Resilience Agency

Drought Communities Programme extended

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Minister for Drought David Littleproud and Minister for Education Dan Tehan announced a $57 million support package for farmers, small businesses, families and schools in drought-affected communities across Australia.

Fifty-two councils will share in $47 million in an extension of the Drought Communities Programme (DCP).

“The funding will support events that create jobs, boost tourism and improve community wellbeing, and enable construction of infrastructure that encourages people to stop in these small towns,” Minister Littleproud said.

The addition of the new councils brings the total number of eligible councils in the DCP to 180. A full list of eligible councils can be found at business.gov.au/dcp.

An additional $10 million in drought relief support for non-government schools is also being provided to ensure that families affected by drought are able to keep their kids in school.

For more information, visit the Department of Infrastructure Drought Communities Programme page.